Jim Lynch

Technology and Other Musings

Restarting the Old Blog

It’s been quite a while since I posted on this blog, not counting the post about my awful recent experience with a certain technology publishing company I used to love.

The first thing I noticed coming back to WordPress was the block editor. It hasn’t gotten much better than the last time I used it. Since this is the free version of WordPress, it doesn’t allow me to use other plugins to go back to the old editor. Initially, I was aggravated by it, but I made my peace with it as I can’t see spending $8 per month just to add some plugins.

Fortunately, I found this theme (Spearhead), and it’s alright. It is very readable, minimalist, and hits all the marks in terms of simplicity. Most of the other themes are image-heavy and need to be revised for someone who wants to write versus just slapping up tons of images. The designers are probably heavy Instagram users.

I’ll keep Spearhead as my permanent theme. I don’t think I’ll find one with the same readability, and once you change it to something else, you can lose the good theme you liked since they don’t get installed in your free WordPress system.

But what do you expect from a free account, right? It’s still very functional and reasonably fast, and I don’t have to fiddle with many plugins as Akismet is in JetPack already, and the basic functionality is all there. So I can’t complain too much about it.

Did you enjoy this post? If so, you are welcome to buy me a coffee. I thank you in advance for your kindness and support.

Published by

Leave a comment